October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

I’m sure at some point in your life you’ve had a friend, a family member, or possibly yourself that has had this disease. Breast cancer is not a respecter of persons – it doesn’t discriminate. It doesn’t care how many degrees you’ve earned, if you’re rich or poor, if you’re healthy or not, no one is exempt.
If you’re not conducting regular breast examines each month, start. Depending upon your family history, visit your health-care provider for yearly or bi-yearly mammograms. Your life depends upon it. For more information visit: http://www.nbcam.org.
In closing a friend of mine wrote a book about her journey; from diagnosis to remission. Her book has touched many lives over the years. If you or someone you know is battling this disease, I encourage you to purchase a copy. The book is called, “Why not me?” by Marlene Holtshouser.
An excerpt from “Why not me?”
Introduction
Everyone has a story to tell, everyone has a book to write. This is my story – the story of how I triumphed over breast cancer and a recurrence. I was a thirty-six year old, active single parent when I was diagnosed with this insidious disease. Like a lot of single mothers, I had to be the homemaker/breadwinner rolled into one, as I fought the fight of my life.
I will take you on a journey of faith, hope and triumph as I share my story with you, the reader.
Chapter 1: Discovery
I remember it so well – the day I went in for my breast biopsy. It was October 17, 1989, the day of San Francisco’s major earthquake, and it was the third game of the World Series with the Oakland A’s winning over the San Francisco Giants at Candlestick Park. Funny, how you think you’re standing on solid ground only to have it suddenly fall out from under you. I, like the people in San Francisco, discovered that day that my foundation was no longer rock-solid.
*****************************************************************************************
To order your copy of Marlene’s book go to http://www.authorhouse.com $11.50 + shipping and handling, or you can place your order by e-mail whynotme56@att.net $8.00 + shipping and handling.
This entry was posted in book, breast cancer, diagnosed, disease, Pure'ity, single mothers, why not me?. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month

  1. jack-aha says:

    As this is NBCAM, thought I’d pass along an easy way to help raise awareness: check out these 30 sec breast cancer related videos — http://www.ahamoment.com/pg/voting?moment=pmbbmea — and click to vote for one or all. The top vote getters in the contest will be aha moment TV commercials next year. And more media exposure for the cause would be a very good thing.Thx,jack@ahamoment.com

Leave a Reply

